Blogging: An Effective Way to Liberate Yourself From Toxic People on Social Media

Do you ever regret posting a not-so-conservative post that made your parents, aunts, uncles, teachers, workmates, or bosses react like “WTF”? Did they comment or message you with something like “Why are you posting stuff like this? Delete it.”

Or maybe your family and friends are loyalists or Dutertards and your posts were against their beliefs so you had a debate on social media about whether who’s wrong or not.

And then you cried because you couldn’t understand how people can be so fucking stupid. You deactivated your social media account because you were so depressed and you couldn’t stand seeing more hate comments from them. Next thing you know, you’re thinking about disappearing from the world. Or whatever.

If this has ever happened to you, then your social network is toxic. First, let me clarify the meaning of toxic in this context.

Toxic connections are not only those who spread hate comments on your posts and bring you down. If you feel like you can’t post something because you’re afraid that people, especially your relatives or workmates, will judge you, then it’s time to take action.

Let me tell you why I blog (and why you should blog, too).

You’re Speaking to Everyone and No One at the Same Time

On Facebook, all my posts are visible to my friends (I have only 111 Facebook friends, btw). On WordPress, my posts are visible to the public. Why am I here? Even though people from across the world can see my blog posts, you’ll find that the ratio of WordPress users to Facebook users is 1:23. When you blog, it’s like you’re speaking to everyone and no one at the same time. 

Sure, I do the shameless plugging on Facebook and Instagram sometimes, but the stats show that most of my visitors are WordPress users from other countries. The referrers are not even Facebook or Instagram. See?

Perhaps people are too lazy to tap the link on my social media accounts or maybe they’re using free data to access Facebook, but that’s not the point. Most people, or at least most people I know, are not interested in blogging, so it’s flattering to know that there are even a number of people who take the time and effort to read my posts.

There Are Fewer Toxic People Here, Mate

When you blog, you can modify your account settings and choose the types of users who can comment on your posts. Also, you can choose to filter the comments and delete the ones you do not like even before they appear on your posts. In my case, I allow WordPress users only to post comments. This way, people who are not interested in blogging can’t throw offensive, lewd, or stupid comments at me. The smaller your following is, the lesser chance you have of dealing with toxic people. 

The Experience Is Liberating

I have published posts against Duterte, Marcos, and the Catholic church (sort of). I admit, I did not use strong language in those posts, but I can only imagine the hate I would get if I posted those on Facebook or other social networking sites, what with all the trolls and fanatics out there. It’s a wise move, you know, and liberating on so many levels, unless you’re trying to become the next Mocha Uson (I’m not).

It’s Addicting

Blogging is like sex: once you start, you just can’t stop. Once you’ve found the courage to publish your first post, face the grammar police worldwide, and ignore the judging eyes of people, one thing will lead to another.

I have so many unpublished, private, and WIP posts on my WordPress app, but I’m trying to post one every week so as not to flood my site. It’s good to have a phone with you wherever you go. If you are a writer at heart, you won’t know when an idea will pop out of your mind. Whenever this happens to me, I usually put my thoughts into writing immediately. Good ideas are always best written when they’re fresh.

You Can Unleash the Writer Within

Practice makes progress. Even though I believe that writing is more of a talent than a skill, everyone can be a great writer over time. You just have to read a lot, write a lot, blog a lot, and then read some more.

Your Blog Site Can Be Your Online Portfolio

If you want to get freelance jobs, your blog site can be your best asset. Whether it is writing, photography, modeling, or what have you, your blog site is the easiest way for employers to see if you’ve got it in you.

If you’re like me who just wants a platform where I can express my “deepest thoughts and feelings” without exposing my posts to toxic people, then create your own blog site. Remember: here, you’re talking to everyone and no one at the same time, sans the toxic people who bring you down.

3 thoughts on “Blogging: An Effective Way to Liberate Yourself From Toxic People on Social Media

Leave a Reply

