Eternal Struggle of the Creative Mind

I have attended various writing-related workshops and training programs and my key takeaway is always the same: the secret to becoming a good writer is reading a lot, paying attention to the world, writing a lot, and reading some more. And by read, I don’t mean read books. In fact, reading books, whether fiction or non-fiction, is only the second goal.

If you want to become a good writer, read the how-to-use directions on the back of your shampoo bottle, read the slogans of the companies and brands advertised on billboards, and pay attention to the phrases written on flyers given to you by random people at the mall or on the streets. Read anything.

Pay attention to the world.

You see, I think that’s the eternal struggle of the creative mind. I pay attention to the world too much to the point that I always find myself overthinking.

I don’t know if that’s good or bad, but all I know is that having a brain with no switch can be a bit overwhelming sometimes. It’s tiring. It always gets the best of me. Sometimes, I just want to sleep and put my mind at ease, but random thoughts keep boggling my brain as if there’s no tomorrow.

It sucks.

I started this blog last October 2016 to create an outlet for my random thoughts, take on current political issues that I don’t want to post on Facebook, and latest creative endeavors that I want to share with the world.

Now, whenever an idea hits me, I put my thoughts into writing immediately and feel a million times more at ease with myself.

I don’t know what brought you here, but let me say thank you for dropping by. This is not a collection of the creative outputs that a writer can be proud of, but it sure contains my innermost thoughts that I need to let out.

Writing for this blog helps my mind relax, and that, alone, is enough for me.

11 thoughts on “Eternal Struggle of the Creative Mind

  1. Preach! I have the same problem with my mind going a mile a minute. I wouldn’t necessarily consider it a bad thing, as I think it shows that you have much to share. Out of curiosity, have you tried escaping from the hustle and bustle, like hiking or just going out in nature to be alone where you can collect your thoughts? It’s worked for me in the past, as it helps eliminate distractions for me so I can better organize my thoughts. Anyway, just a suggestion. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, J!

    I stroll parks whenever I feel like my brain is about to explode and although I love the idea of hitting the beach and hiking mountains, I live in the city and my hectic schedule won’t allow me to go out there and spoil the little adventurer in me. But hey, thanks for the suggestion. I’m off to ask the big boss for a vacation. Haha!

    Best,

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

